Bike Away the Grumblies

Last semester I pushed myself way too hard, what with the whole grad school commuting two hours one way working in another town thing.  When the semester got out, I realized I was depressed; I didn’t have enough energy to blog, which is saying something.  It’s gotten better since April, but I haven’t really been able to shake off the combination of depression, insomnia, tiredness, general lethargy, etc. (hereafter referred to as “the grumblies”) until today.

For whatever reason (probably better, more consistent nutrition), I suddenly gained about 20 pounds when I got married.  My weight was basically like a Heaviside function (no pun intended).  This, of course, distressed me greatly, especially when people started telling me I looked well-fed.  (No! I want to look emaciated!)

Over the past year-and-a-half-or-so I have tried with varying degrees of success to lose or keep off the weight.  I’m still not where I want to be.  Recently, I decided to rededicate myself to my exercise regimen–my friend is getting married next month, and I want to look better in his wedding pictures than I do in mine.  Thus go my thought processes.

As part of my newly renewed exercise regimen, I spent 45 minutes on a stationary bike today.  It was more intense than it sounds; I was dripping-sweat gross by the time I was done.  I set a goal to hit a certain number of calories on the machine’s screen, and upped it every time I felt like I was getting too close.  The end result was that I kept pushing myself harder and harder, until I was nearly gasping for breath by the end.

When I was almost to the end, the room suddenly got brighter.  I looked around and realized my head was clearer than it had been all day (before going to work out, I was falling asleep at my desk).  For one temerous moment I grabbed the handlebars, afraid I was about to pass out.  But I didn’t.  I just sat there, still pedaling like mad, feeling great.  And I felt great for the rest of the day.  I had the satisfaction of finishing my workout and surpassing every goal I had set for myself.  I went back upstairs and got more done in two hours than I had all morning.  I wasn’t nodding off on the train home.  And here I am, blogging, listening to Tabula Rasa by Arvo Pärt, feeling great.  I’m wondering if I actually biked my way out of the grumblies today.

Because if this is the cure for the grumblies, I’m doing it every day forever.

Results not typical.  Frühlingsblumen is not qualified to give exercise or other medical advice.  Consult with your physician before beginning this, or any other, exercise program.

 

Leave a Reply

